15. August 2019 · Comments Off · Categories: Legal

In Florida, driving under the influence charges are based on the driver’s blood-alcohol content reading. All drivers over the age of 21 are charged according to the standard legal limit. Commercial drivers are convicted with a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.04%.

What Evidence is Used in the Criminal Case?

To convict a driver of a DUI, the court must prove that the driver had a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.8%. The arrest must be lawful, and the officer must have probable cause to stop the driver. The automobile must be mobile with the driver operating it to be classified as a DUI.

Are There Alternatives for First-Time Offenders?

Yes, drivers who don’t have a previous history of DUI or other criminal offenses may receive a plea bargain. The offer allows the driver to participate in an alcohol addiction program. If the driver completes the program successfully and fulfills all conditions, the court won’t convict them of DUI, and the offense won’t appear on the driver’s record.

What are the Penalties for a DUI Conviction?

The penalties for a first conviction is up to six months in jail, a fine between $500 and $1,000, and a driver’s license suspension between 180 days and one year. The second conviction imposes a jail sentence of up to nine months, a fine between $1,000 and $2,000, and a driver’s license suspension up to one year. The third conviction is classified as a felony. The defendant faces up to one year in jail, a fine between $2,000 and $5,000, and a driver’s license suspension of up to one year.

What Increases Potential Penalties?

Aggravated DUI charges, accidents with injuries, and vehicular manslaughter charges increase the penalties. If a minor under the age of 14 is in the automobile, the driver could be convicted of child endangerment, too.

In Florida, driving under the influence charges lead to serious penalties according to the driver’s previous record. First-time offenders might have access to a plea bargain that eliminates the penalties. After a conviction, the driver is required to get SR-22 certificates, too. Drivers who have been arrested for a DUI contact Destin attorneys for more info now.

Comments closed.